Skip to content ↓

Our Curriculum


Curriculum Intent

At St Mary and All Saints, we are proud to teach Jigsaw PSHE (Personal, Social, Health, Economic). Jigsaw is a mindful and child-centred approach to PSHE. It is an original and comprehensive scheme of learning which integrates personal, social, health and economic education with emphasis on emotional literacy, mental health and SMSC (Social, Moral, Spiritual and Cultural), development.

Jigsaw aims to help children know and value who they really are and how they relate to other people in this ever-changing world.

Jigsaw PSHE helps promote the fundamental British values of democracy, the rule of law, individual liberty and mutual respect and tolerance of those with different faiths and beliefs.

Curriculum Implementation

The Jigsaw scheme is based upon a whole school approach to PSHE which is progressive and sequential. Every year group works on the same theme each half term; this enables the learning message to be reinforced through whole school activities, such as assemblies, allowing for themes to be shared and celebrated.

Mindfulness activities are key components of the Jigsaw PSHE lessons. The children reflect on their experiences and understand how they are developing personally and socially, tackling issues that are part of growing up. The Jigsaw PSHE lessons help the children develop their self-belief, realise their value and encourages them to become increasingly responsible for their own learning. In addition, the children develop an understanding of their place within the wider community, and are taught how to resolve conflicts, develop collaboration skills and respect for others.

There are six jigsaw puzzle pieces of learning – Being me in my world, Celebrating differences, Dreams and Goals, Healthy me, Relationships and Changing me.  All of these pieces of learning are brought together to form a cohesive picture, helping children to grow up in a safe, respectful and diverse school community.

Relationships and Sex Education:

An important part of the Jigsaw PSHE programme is delivered through the 'Relationships' and 'Changing Me' puzzle pieces which are covered in the summer term. 

There are four main aims of teaching RSE:

• To enable children to understand and respect their bodies
• To help children develop positive and healthy relationships appropriate to their age and development
• To support children to have positive self-esteem and body image
• To empower them to be safe and safeguarded.

Each year group is taught appropriate to their age and developmental stage. At no point will a child be taught something that is inappropriate.

Below is a summary of  coverage within the Jigsaw scheme for each year group:
• Foundation Stage - Growing up: how we have changed since we were babies
• Year 1 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; naming body parts
• Year 2 - Boys’ and girls’ bodies; body parts and respecting privacy (which parts of the body are private and why this is)
• Year 3 - How babies grow and how boys’ and girls’ bodies change as they grow older
• Year 4 - Internal and external reproductive body parts, body changes in girls and menstruation
• Year 5 - Puberty for boys and girls, and conception
• Year 6 - Puberty for boys and girls and understanding conception to birth of a baby

At St Mary and All Saints, puberty is taught as a statutory requirement of Health Education and is covered by our Jigsaw PSHE Programme in the ‘Changing Me’ Puzzle (unit). This is taught in the summer term of Year 4, 5 and 6. We conclude that sex education refers to Human Reproduction. Therefore at St Mary and All Saints we don’t not teach any areas of sex education that are not statutory and therefore we not do offer parents the right to withdraw however, we offer an open forum for discussion with parents if they would like to discuss this further.


Get In Touch

  • Maxwell Road, Beaconsfield, Bucks, HP9 1RG

  • 01494 673762