Skip to content ↓

Our Curriculum


Much of our PSED curriculum is delivered through our PSHE (personal, social and health education) lessons.  PSHE covers a variety of topics including: Relationships and Sex education, Physical Health, Mental well-being, Wider safety, Economic understanding and the Understanding of technology and media. We use Jigsaw as a whole school approach to deliver PSHE, emotional literacy, social skills and spiritual development.  


There is a strong emphasis on emotional literacy and nurturing mental health as the necessary underpinnings for learning with a unique mindfulness approach in every session.  This approach enables children to identify their feelings and emotions and regulate their own behaviour from the start. 


There are six Jigsaw puzzles (half termly units) that are delivered each year.  The whole school studies the same learning themes at the same time, each year group at its own level.  The Puzzles are sequential and developmental throughout each academic year.

  • Being me in my world covers a wide range of topics, including a sense of belonging, welcoming others and being part of a school community, a wider community and a global community; it also looks at children's rights and responsibilities, working and socialising with others, and pupil voice. 
  • Celebrating difference focuses on similarities and differences and teaches about diversity, such as disability, racism, power, friendships and conflict; children learn to accept everyone's right to 'difference', and most year groups explore the concept of 'normality.' Anti-bullying, including cyber and homophobic bullying is an important aspect of this topic.
  • Dreams and Goals helps children think about their hopes and dreams, their goals for success, what their personal strengths are, and how to overcome challenges, using team-work and tasks.  There is also a focus on enterprise and fundraising. children learn about experiencing and managing feelings of pride, ambition, disappointment, success; and they get to share their aspirations, the dreams and goals of others in different cultures/countries, and their dreams for their community and the world. 
  • Healthy me covers two main areas of health: Emotional/mental health (relaxation, being safe, friendships, mental health skills, body image, relationships with food, managing stress) and physical health (eating a balanced diet, physical activity, rest and relaxation, keeping clean, drugs and alcohol, being safe, first aid). Most of the statutory content for Health Education is covered in this unit.
  • Relationships starts with building a respectful relationship with self and covers topics including families, friendships, pets and animals, and love and loss. A vital part of this unit is about safeguarding and keeping children safe; this links to online safety and social networking.  Children learn how to deal with conflict, build assertiveness skills and identify their own strengths and strategies for building self-esteem and resilience.  They explore roles and responsibilities in families and friendship groups, and consider stereotypes. 
  • Changing me deals with change of many types, from growing from young to old, becoming a teenager, assertiveness, puberty, self-respect and safeguarding.  Each year group thinks about looking ahead, moving year groups, or the transition to secondary school and how to cope positively with such changes.  Life cycles and human reproduction are taught in some year groups.  

Jigsaw teaches children to become aware of their thoughts and feelings, as they happen, helping them to concentrate, focus and regulate their emotional states.

The Calm Me time at the beginning of each lesson develops mindfulness using breathing techniques, awareness exercises and visualisations. 

Get In Touch

  • Maxwell Road, Beaconsfield, Bucks, HP9 1RG

  • 01494 673762